Suddenly Sauer: Preserving Food and Tradition in a Modern World


Suddenly Sauer Sells!
September 20, 2010, 10:06 pm
Filed under: Pickled Anything

Packed, Labeled, and READY TO EAT!

Just a quick note, I had my first sale of pickles at yesterday’s Corktown Community Brunch.  Not only did my Indian Style Dill Pickles (a recipe torn from the pages of ADAMAH dills) sit pretty alongside the Indian Style Huevos Rancheros menu, Delicata Sunshine’s Peach Chutney, and Detroit Evolution’s ground cherry and tomatillo hot sauce, but I also managed to peddle my first few jars of suddenly sauer product!

This occasion even led me to get my mom involved!  She has run a stationary store out of our basement since I was 10 yrs old and last week she and I sat down and designed these labels

Thank you Invitation Station!

And, because I can’t resist, I want to mention what’s currently “in the crock,” (meaning, in progress, of course!)

literally fermenting:

Dilly Beans
Sweetly Spiced Shredded Beets
Cucumber and Green Tomato Relish
SauerReuben (a turnip based sauerkraut)
Butternut Squash and Asian Greens Kimchi
Fresh Turmeric and Fennel Cauliflower

figuratively fermenting:

The products I’ve jarred so far are just the beginning of what I’m planning to eventually amount to 25 jars each of 12 experimental varieties, all crafted with much love and care in my kitchen.  I’m planning to amass these creations into a winter pickle share, for 25 eager pickle eaters to sample at the rate of 2 jars a month for 6 months.  The jars are small, but the share would be as much about getting a sneak peak of some really special pickles, as about supporting said pickles and their bright and fizzy future in Suddenly Sauer’s first year.

I plan to use this blog to let those who sample my product know about the process behind each variety, as well where the food that goes into the pickles comes from.

I’m going to be putting together more information about this share in the coming weeks, but if you’re interested in being on Suddenly Sauer’s e-mail list, either comment on this post with your e-mail or e-mail me directly at blair@suddenlysauer.com.

Thanks to my incredibly supportive community for getting me this far, and I’m looking forward to discovering all the ways we can support eachother in the future!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

SWEET! Well, maybe just a little bit sauer ;^)

Comment by Diane Dodge

Hooray! I can’t wait for pickleCSA. Please sign me up for the email list.

Comment by Jess




Leave a Reply

